How to eat healthy (for your gall bladder) when you travel

Posted: August 15, 2012 in diet, nutrition
Tags: , ,

Either traveling, or commuting, or anywhere you can’t be at home, it is tough to eat things that are compatible with a body which has no gall bladder (or has one, but it’s “out to lunch”).

I travel quite a bit, internationally. As such, it is very difficult to maintain a fresh refrigerator stocked with the things I need to eat. Need, as in “not want but need.” The things I want, I really shouldn’t eat. The things available to a traveler with no stocked refrigerator are usually all things which are incompatible with gall bladder patients: mostly bready, starchy things made with trans fats.

Bread and starch tends to puff us up and turn us into gas machines. Not good for polite company. Greasy starch even worse.

I offer the following solution which has served me well: eggs and apples.

Eggs can be prepared in multiple ways but the way they travel best is hard-boiled. Whenever I arrive in a new location the first thing I go to buy is 2 dozen eggs and a bag of apples. Then I hardboil a full dozen of the eggs.

Instant breakfast, just peel and eat. Take a few for lunch. Snacks, whatever. There are few things more excellent than a simple hardboiled egg with some salt and Tobasco or sriracha sauce. They are also filling. I’m a big guy and 2-3 hardboiled eggs will keep me fed for half a day before I start to feel hungry again.

The apples, well, they’re for variety 🙂 And they are also good for you and contain fiber and vitamins to go with the eggs.

Not only that, but eggs contain everything a gall bladder patient needs for nutrients and proper digestion. I have noticed that in cases where I have slipped out of a healthy routine and begin to suffer from new bouts of diarrhea (yes, I am prone to binges of pizza and burgers), a few days on eggs and fruit brings me quickly back to normal. Give it a try, the worst that can happen is that you get tired of eggs and fruit.

Thinking chemically, you could probably live forever on a diet of nothing but eggs, fruit, and greens.

Leave a Reply

