Cutting back on diet coke

Posted: September 27, 2012 in diet, nutrition
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been shamelessly addicted to Diet Coke for years. I quit it once after reading up on the potential horrors of aspartame toxicity, and replaced it with Coke Classic, but I gained so much weight with the extra calories that I had to go back to Diet.

Freaking out after another onset of new “aspartame is horrible for you” propaganda, I’ve been off Diet Coke for a week now, and there are some notable changes in the consistency of my toilet trips. First of all, when I am drinking Diet Coke, I am drinking it all day. Sipping constantly. While working, while resting, it became a sort of habit, similar to smoking, that I had to constantly have a drink with me. Even when I am not drinking Diet Coke, and I am not thirsty, I still yearn for the physical sensation of constantly sipping a beverage. I wake up every morning craving Diet Coke. When I say it’s an addiction I’m not kidding.

The first reaction I notice to lack of Diet Coke is that I am not hungry between meals. I have read that aspartame is so sweet that it can trick your brain into thinking it is sugar-crashing, causing you to be hungry. This may be the case. I have not been hungry for snacks between meals the whole time since I quit drinking Diet Coke last week. I am also less thirsty to a significant extent. I have been drinking water and occasional ginger ale (made with sugar, not corn syrup). With the ginger ale, I maybe drink a glass, and I feel no need to drink more.

The second thing I notice is that my trips to the toilet result in firmer stools. Perhaps a consequence of not being overhydrated? I have also read some things about food allergies to caffeine. There are many potential variables, and I did not do a real scientific-method study, but the end results are that I feel much better and have more normal bowel habits as a result of my stopping drinking so much soda.

 

Comments
  1. Kate says:

    I was addicted to Diet Coke for over 10 years. One day I was complaining about a weird feeling in my head when I drink too much Diet Coke. The person (who works at a health food store) told me that the aspartame and phenyl$@#@$@# when combined and reach human body temperature create a by product called FORMALDAHYDE. I have not had a sip of Diet Coke since then!

    • Renee says:

      I was addicted to diet-coke once too. I thought I was so clever replacing a healthy dinner with diet coke! I lost weight, but came down with a chronic neurological disorder. Maybe FOLRMALDAHYDE is not meant to be ingested! (I also lost my gallbladder too.) (Watch out for gum – most of it is filled with aspartame. I’ve heard infant foods now are made with aspartame – just to keep those babies from getting “too fat!?”) How does this pass FDA approval?

  2. Lisa says:

    Prior to Cholecystectomy I had heartburn so bad it felt like I was having a heart attack. Had my gallbladder removed 3-28, watched everything I ate and still horrible heartburn. I’m not eating any greasy or fried foods, no sweets, no caffeine. Please let me know if this is normal and my body just needs to adjust!

    • J.Bernal says:

      It could be bile reflux, it could be any number of things. Do OTC medications like Prilosec stop the heartburn?

    • Renee says:

      Heartburn responds well to drinking a glass of water into which is mixed a teaspoon of cider vinegar. It seemed counter-intuitive, but it cured my daughter’s heartburn and got her off all heartburn medication – which has dangerous side-effects.

  3. Renee says:

    I love your book! The humor really helps. I’ve been “addicted” to tea for many years, maybe for the sugar or milk I put in it, and definitely for the caffeine. But I’ve heard that too much caffeine can cause diarrhea as it is an intestinal irritant. Cutting back helped, and I replaced the milk with almond milk and the sugar with honey and that helped too. Looking forward to new info. on your website.

Leave a Reply

