Working on a new supplement that actually works

Posted: June 24, 2013 in Gall Bladder, supplements
Tags: , ,

I have begun paving the trail to have a new supplement manufactured for those of us who no longer have gall bladders (or have lost the function of one that is still there). Since all of the bile supplements on the market are uncoated, they are mostly ineffective. I have tested lots of them and not had any results other than indigestion. The reasoning, so far as I can figure, is this:

In a perfect world, bile enters your system in your small intestine for a reason. 1 to emulsify fats, and 2 to reduce the acidity of your incoming stomach contents. Bile is a base. If the bile enters your stomach, it will increase the pH (reduce the acidity) of your stomach contents, leading to reduced digestion or outright negation of the pill you took.

In order to get the bile to the right place, it needs to be coated with something that will make it last through the acid environment of the stomach, and then break down in a more base environment like the intestine. Such coatings do exist, but none are presently used on bile tablets.

I believe that one of the greatest contributing factors to the side effects we gallbladderless people suffer is from pH imbalances in the digestive tract: food is too acidic as it travels through your intestine due to reduced bile output, and then the whole tract is too base the rest of the time because the bile is just constantly leaking into your system.

With a coated tablet, I hope to be able to, in effect, replicate the environment we once had when our gall bladders worked. Or get it reasonably close. We shall see. And you can help.

I am still in the formulation stage, but once I have the first test batch made, I will be looking for some volunteers to test it out for me and provide feedback. If you are interested, please contact me here or via email (media@evlmedia.com) and I’ll let you know as soon as it’s available.

Comments
  1. Teri Clay-Poole says:

    Hello there, Yes, I’d be happy to be one of your test subjects. You’ve hit on something I’ve often wondered about; whether having the bile introduced to the stomach environment would be as effective as your own body’s natural bile. Please let me know when/where/how the testing begins. Cheers, Teri

    Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2013 06:06:42 +0000 To: calypso1228@hotmail.com

  2. Jenn G says:

    I’d love to test it too. I’m still taking the cholestyramine but would like to find another solution. I worry about nutrient absorption, since the proper function of the bile is mitigated.

  3. Charlene Marie says:

    hi Mr Bernal, I too would love to be one of your test people. I still have my gall bladder but an x-ray for my back shows I have gallstones. I have had many digestive challenges for about 15 years and eating has become very frustrating.I am so grateful for your book. I just started recently Bile acid factors. They have helped but I am experiencing runny stools. No longer paint peeling flatulence though. I am sure in due time I will get down the right combination of stuff to help myself.

  4. Marcia Harlan says:

    Hi Mr Bernal – count me in. I’m still struggling to find the Holy Grail: a complete list of foods I must avoid and/or the right supplements/drugs to mimic my lost gallbladder. I am tremendously better since cutting wheat out of my diet about 3 months ago – thanks so much for writing your book! I eat a healthy, low-fat home-cooked diet and take digestive enzymes (incl. ox bile), a soluble fiber supplement & dicyclomine, an IBS drug that slows down the G-I tract, daily. Even so I am still a work in progress. I find Pepto-bismol tabs or Imodium really help when the inevitable ‘purge’ comes back around, about once every 10 days now. Used to be every other day, could barely leave my house for 2 years. What heaven it would be to have a healthy, calm digestive system again! So, sure – I’ll be a guinea pig. All I have to lose is that hot lava thing…

  5. Randy Keen says:

    I had emergency gallbladder surgery last October to remove one that was gangrenous. Since then I have been plagued with diarrhea. Bile supplementation did not work. Cholestyramine does work but it also makes me constipated if I use it more than three times. Plus, I don’t like the fact that it also binds vitamins A, D, E, and K. So, I am very interested in volunteering to try your new supplement.

  6. lucyh7190 says:

    Hi Mr Bernal, count me in aswell 🙂

  7. Renee says:

    Hi. I’d like to try your coated capsules. I can not figure out why I am attacked with the runs after eating something “harmless” like soup and salad and then not suffering after eating a triple dipper at chills. It seems the bad stuff I eat hides out and waits to hit me later, when it can cause the most embarrassment. I got my gallbladder removed three years ago, and the only thing that’s better is that I’m without painful attacks. If one gets this delayed reaction to foods how is one to tell what works and what doesn’t?

  8. Lemoine davis says:

    Had gallbladder surgery on Dec 4 2013. Been in pain every since. What do u suggest. Sign me up for the coated pill

  9. Robyne says:

    I would love to be part of your trial. I had emergency gall bladder removal surgery after over 25 years of trying to avoid it (I’m 54.) I have done a lot of research about the gall bladder and how it functions, and what causes it to form stones and make some of us miserable. I know allergies and thyroid are big factors, as well as looking at our total load of environmental toxins, heavy metals, candida, etc. For many of us, having our gallbladders removed doesn’t magically remove all of the problems that caused our gallbladders to give us grief in the first place, unfortunately. For me, so far I have followed some of the advice from gallbladderattack.com (after gallbladder removal surgery) and it is working, along with being very careful to avoid overeating, too much fat, too little fat, and foods that I think I’m allergic to like dairy and gluten. The supplements that are working are bile salts, choline (in the form of phosphatydil choline), digestive enzymes, and HCL after meals. I also take cod liver oil and some other stuff like Vitamin D, K, and lots of magnesium, which had the happy side effect of greatly lessening the atrial fibrulation I have been experiencing in peri-menopause.
    I am so grateful for this forum that has been created to help those of us who have had to have this surgery. Robyne

  10. Caryl says:

    Just came across this. Did the enteric coated supplement get to the test stage (or beyond)? I’m definitely interested.

Leave a Reply

